Visited this as our last port of call on a day out in surrey, This place is really stunning but very stripped out. A nice lil mooch all the same, Seems they are on the ball here now, with a lot of rooms locked up so didnt get to see everywhere, Built in 1876 by Ernest Seth-Smith for his elder brother Charles, incorporating part of an older house on the ground floor, in 1898 the house was sold to Sir Charles Tennant, wealthy industrialist and patron of the arts who, aged 75, had just married his 2nd wife Marguerite who was to bear him 4 children. The main Tennant property was in Scotland but this house appears to be an out of London house for entertaining, Surrey becoming very popular at the time. The brewery owning Charrington family owned Broadoaks from 1911 to 1946 when it was sold to the Ministry of Supply. In 1948 it housed the Army Operational Research Group and was in military occupation until 1996.