Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'leics'.
Found 3 results
Explore with JuJu, KM Punk & Lost Explorer on a beautiful summers day. This place exceeded expectations; the scale of the overflow is epic. Being under the actual overflow vents, at the bottom of the reservoir level gives you a sense of impending doom. If water were to be cascading out those vents whilst you were under it; it would be surely be curtains. Fortunately water levels in the lake were low. Thanks to KM Punk for this one. The reservoir was formed by the damming of the Eye Brook. It was built between 1937 and 1940 by Stewarts & Lloyds to supply water to their Corby steel works, now part of Tata Steel, formerly Corus. During the Second World War it was used in May 1943 as a practice site for the Dambuster raids, standing in for the MÃ¶hne Reservoir; a plaque commemorates this. And finally, The reservoir itself thanks for looking
Sileby Incinerator, Leics â€“ October 2015 A bit late posting this one almost a month after visiting! After an unfortunate day of fail after fail in and around Melton Mowbray, after buying the obligatory Melton Mowbray Pork Pies (The more expensive in house made ones with all the jelly of course); we headed to our final site on a very long list and that was this little incinerator in Sileby, Leicestershire. The site itself is pretty trashed and made for some awful lighting; but was actually rather photogenic. We must have spent an hour or more in this small site. Not much information on this one; but it appears to have operated as a private refuse incinerator from the 1970s-1990s and then as a council recycling depot until its unknown but guessed closure of around 2002. I found cans dating back to 2001 on the sorting machine and some cardboard cereal packets dating back to 2002. Visited with Mookster. #1 #2 Tango Can (Exp. 1997) #3 #4 #5 #6 #7 #8 #9 #10 #11 As Always, Thanks for looking More At: https://www.flickr.com/photos/landie_man/albums/72157660460740559
First explore out with KM punk for a while. This place was quite big so spent an enjoyable few hours here. So long, that we didnÃ¢â‚¬â„¢t get time to visit some of the other places on the list. The Natsopa Memorial Home opened in 1921, a memorial to printers who fell in the great war. At some point during the 1960's or 70's it became known as Hornsey Rise Memorial Home, and was owned by the Pilgrims' Friend Society. The home closed in June 2012. Some sections had been closed longer, and were in a greater state of decay. thanks for looking