Latest posts across the community

Contact Staff

Our team are here to help if needed

Can anyone recommend this camera???

Ryda

Oblivion State Member
Reaction score
Ok, Im a complete amateur, but

On a quick google search, The aperture only goes up to 5, it doesnt have the option of detatchable lenses, and the shutter speed only goes up to 8 secs.

That means 8 secs would be your longest possible exposure, so light painting wouldnt be great unless you was bloody quick! The fact it doesnt have detatchable lenses means your a bit stuck at what you can do with your photos, but also means you have eliminated the problem of dust getting in the lens.

For the price it aint too bad, because if you want a top end cam your looking at quite a bit, and if its for your birthday I dont want to suggest a 800 quid cam because ill have Oldie on my back haha.

But at least you will have something easy to learn on, I started off with a Olympus E10, which doesnt have detatchable lenses, and I think the maximum shutter speed was something like 8 or 16 secs.

Shadow

Oblivion State Member
Reaction score
I'd say it was well worth it, 10mp for £120, bargin, wide angle as standard too. Fuji mini slrs (as I call them) are very good for starting photography. I started with an S5600 which then went to Jesus and then to one of our friends. However the 8 Second max shutterspeed would be a bit of a ballache, you really want something with AT LEAST 15 secs, the S5600 for example. If you can afford it get an S9600.

Ryda

Oblivion State Member
Reaction score
This is the point ill hand you over to one of our professionals haha

Fuji are usually the best at -as shadz put it- mini SLRs. Then you've got the big boys Canon & Nikon, problem with those 2 is that this forum is divided, and for example, I love my Canon, if you spoke to Fluff, she'd say get a Nikon lol

superwide

Reaction score
It was only around 6mp and about 4 years old, before it sank in folkestone harbour. RIP