Contact Staff

Contact the team

Killing the game - Thoughts on UE

Involuntary Abstinence

Oblivion State Member
OS Member
Reaction score
Lately I've been reading Bradely Garrett's book

"Explore Everything". I am sort of halfway through.

I don't pretend to be a cultural snob or elitist, and most

of the overdetailed analysis of the philosophy behind Urban Exploration with so

much reference to figures like Nietzsche is not something that makes me nod my

head in recognition of a higher purpose in what I do. Still, I totally agree

that if you scrape off all the obvious layers of why people say they are or

really are urban explorers, there is a subconscious truth to all of that.

What I really seem to understand, acknowledge and,

unfortunately, agree with, is the talk about the ruthless competitiveness

behind it in the UE community.

I am a newbie in UE. Did my first two explores in July 2013,

when the term "Urban Exploration" was not known to me. The how I got

involved is one of those blurry memories of our life, where it's hard to

actually put the "historical facts" in order and can't really tell if

"A" came first or "B". But here I am 4 months in UE and

have already gone through huge transformations.

Every day is a constant lesson, the learning process is

sometimes fast, other times is tedious. It's a weird mixture of feelings and

realities involved with it, but one thing has never changed, the realization

that I was meant to do this. It's not an arrogant claim, it's just me

acknowledging my own shortcoming and strengths and being able to trace back my

own personal history and personal growth to see that it was meant to come to

this.

Through Garrett's book, I come not to learn, but validate

the hearsay and the stories picked up from here and there about how difficult

it is to be an urban explorer in recent time. And quick note, I don't know how

it was 15 years ago, or 10 years, but I know and learning how it is now.